CONTACT
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube

© Marithé + François Girbaud 2020

HIPPOKAMPF

Of all the vegetable pigments, blue was undoubtedly the most difficult to use. Originally produced from the essence of the isatis tinctoria (woad) and indigofera tinctoria (true indigo) plants, the colour was obtained through a process of fermentation and oxidation.


Originally from the Tarn region in France, François was born in the “Land of Cocagne” (cocagne = woad flower pulp from which the blue dye is extracted), which is undoubtedly what influenced his contribution to the industrialisation of the washing process to artificially age denim.

Fichier 1.png
9I3A8186 - copie.jpg
9I3A8179 - copie.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg
9I3A8148 - copie.jpg
9I3A8227 - copie.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg

We’ve developed a fabric to meet the needs of a new kind of tailoring; mixing the world of business and streetwear culture by breaking down seemingly insurmountable barriers.

 

Grisaglia was originally a refined worsted wool or cotton fabric woven by alternating black and white yarns, resulting in grey or blue tones. This particularly monochromatic fabric was often used for business as well as made-to-measure suits.

9I3A8171 - copie.jpg

NEW COMFORT FOR MOVEMENT 

Today’s city dwellers are often on the move from one appointment to another, and their clothes must stand the challenge of 24 hours a day use. To respond to these exigencies, we’ve developed an Indigo Grisaglia woven with vertical stretch providing new ease of movement. "Verticalised elasticity".

 

Modern tailoring reworked by the 21st century.

no retouch.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg

HIPPOKAMPF

De tous les pigments d'origine végétale, le bleu fut sans doute la couleur la plus difficilement utilisable. Produit à partir de plantes comme la fleur de Pastel ou l'Indigotier, c'est grâce à sa fermentation et à son oxydation que né ce bleu.

 

Natif du Tarn, François est né au "Pays de la Cocagne" (la cocagne = extrait de la pulpe de la fleur de Pastel libérant l'indigo) et c'est sans doute ce qui a influencé sa contribution dans le domaine du délavage industriel du jean.

Fichier 1.png
9I3A8186 - copie.jpg
9I3A8179 - copie.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg
9I3A8148 - copie.jpg
9I3A8227 - copie.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg

Nous avons mis au point un denim répondant à un besoin de nouveau tailoring. Mélanger le monde du business et la culture du streetwear en confondant des barrières qui semblaient infranchissables.

 

A l'origine la Grisaglia est une étoffe raffinée peignée de laine ou de coton réalisée grâce à l'alternative de deux fils noir et blanc qui se croisent. Ayant pour résultat une tonalité grise ou bleu, cette étoffe au reflet particulier mono- chrome fut souvent utilisé dans le monde du business ainsi que pour les costumes de l'aristocratie.

9I3A8171 - copie.jpg

NOUVEAU CONFORT POUR LE MOUVEMENT

Aujourd'hui, pour foncer d'un rendez-vous à un autre, le vêtement du citadin doit répondre aux 24h d'usage. Pour cela, nous avons élaboré une Grisaglia Indigo avec des fils stretch tissés à la verticale permettant un nouveau confort pour le mouvement. "Verticaliser l'élasticité".  

 

Un vêtement moderne tailoring revisité par le 21ème siècle.

no retouch.jpg
Fichier 5_edited.jpg
CONTACT
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube

© Marithé + François Girbaud 2020