COMPAGNIE DES MONTAGNES ET DES FORÊTS

1975 - MAZAMET

Collaboration with Pierre-Alain Galtier (one of François Girbaud's childhood friends), a leather specialist, who provides cutting-edge research for the treatment of leather. For 10 years, they create elaborate products for special customers.

COMPAGNIE DES MONTAGNES ET DES FORETS, FW 1983-1984

MARITHÉ & FRANÇOIS GIRBAUD CUIR, 1986

by Fabrizio Ferri

CLOSED

1976 - RIMINI

When Italians sell large quantities of an item, they say they are going to "close" the market. It’s also a way of creating free advertising, as the word is already everywhere. Brands at the time had never even thought of this idea.

 

Identifying jeans by their fly is a real novelty (Fly label). A brand created by Marithé and François Girbaud, then protected by their Italian partner who sells it to their German distributor in 1991. The end of a 15-year collaboration.    

"Destroyed Jean" CLOSED, 1987

by Fabrizio Ferri

"Hyperboréa" CLOSED, FW 1984-1985

by Fabrizio Ferri

"Romance Deglinged Pant"CLOSED, 1986

by Fabrizio Ferri

MAILLAPARTY

1979 - MAZAMET

Knitwear made in France, the "knitwear of stars" produced industrially in Mazamet, the world center of fellmongery, soon to be transformed into a giant knitwear research centre!

 

The pieces produced would be the beginning of all these experiments. The designer duo push the limits of jacquard techniques and go mad with raised patterns and new colours.

MAILLAPARTY, FW 1987-1988

by Gilles Tapie

MAILLAPARTY,FW 1988-1989

by Gilles Tapie

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN

1989 - RIMINI

Key moments in the history of jeans. The rejection of acid-washed denim and a return to shape, with jeans sculpted in denim. The beginnings of engineered jeans. Seams are moved and go on to create "twisted legs".

 

Radical work on anatomy. Academic attitudes, pockets sculpted into the denim, displaced hand positions, morphological seaming, multi-faceted mutations. A whole graphic, visual universe is born. Stretch is given a jeans look. Styles like "Petit Cheval", "Encentaura", "Artiminotaure", "Love X", "Penduleum", "Coq du village", "Sirène, "Maryhips"…

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN, 1993

by Jean-Louis Grégoire

"Mytholojean", 1989

by William Laxton

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN, 1993

by Jean-Louis Grégoire

S.P.Q.R.CITY

1990

A name inspired by the inscriptions on the pediment of Roman monuments: "Senatus Populusque Romanus" (the Senate and People of Rome). 

 

A contraction of two trends, creating a new proposition to reply to the need for sportswear in the city. Governed by the basic principles of the work of Marithé and François Girbaud: Fit - Form - Function.

"X=MFG", 1991

by Michel Nafziger

"X=MFG", 1991

by Michel Nafziger

S.P.Q.R.CITY, 1991

CONTACT
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube

© Marithé + François Girbaud 2020

COMPAGNIE DES MONTAGNES ET DES FORÊTS

1975 - MAZAMET

Association avec Pierre-Alain Galtier (un ami d'enfance de François Girbaud), spécialiste du cuir, qui fournit un travail de recherche de pointe pour le traitement des peaux. Ensemble, ils sortent pendant 10 ans un produit élaboré destiné à une clientèle privilégiée.

COMPAGNIE DES MONTAGNES ET DES FORETS, AH 1983-1984

MARITHÉ & FRANÇOIS GIRBAUD CUIR, 1986

par Fabrizio Ferri

CLOSED

1976 - RIMINI

Lorsque les italiens vendent un article en grande quantité, ils disent qu'ils vont « fermer » le marché. Une façon aussi d'avoir de la publicité gratuite puisque ce mot existe déjà partout.  Les marques de cette époque n'évoquaient pas cette idée.

 

Identifier le jean par sa braguette est une véritable nouveauté (Fly label). Marque crée par Marithé et François Girbaud puis  protégée par le partenaire italien qui la revendra au distributeur allemand en 1991. Fin d'une collaboration de 15 années.    

"Destroyed Jean" CLOSED, 1987

par Fabrizio Ferri

"Hyperboréa" CLOSED, AH 1984-1985

par Fabrizio Ferri

"Romance Deglinged Pant"CLOSED, 1986

par Fabrizio Ferri

MAILLAPARTY

1979 - MAZAMET

A Lyon on dit "se faire une partie de maille". En maille made in France, le "tricot des stars » est produit industriellement à Mazamet, centre mondial de délainage transformé bientôt en laboratoire géant de la recherche en maille !

 

Les pièces produites seront le fruit de toutes ces expérimentations. Le duo de créateurs repousse les limites du jacquard et s’autorise toutes les folies, motifs reliefs et couleurs inédites en tête.

MAILLAPARTY, AH 1987-1988

par Gilles Tapie

MAILLAPARTY,AH 1988-1989

par Gilles Tapie

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN

1989 - RIMINI 

Essentiel dans l'histoire du jean. Rejet des jeans traités aux acides et retour sur la forme avec un jean sculpté dans le denim. Prémices de l'engineered jean. Les coutures sont déplacées et vont donner naissance au "twisted legs".

 

Travail extrême sur l'anatomie. Attitudes académiques, poches sculptées dans le denim, position des mains déplacée, découpes morphologiques, mutations, multi-formes. Tout un univers graphique et visuel naît. Introduction du stretch vers une "jean attitude". Des modèles comme le petit cheval, l'encentaura, l'artiminotaure, le love X, le penduleum, le coq du village, la sirène, le maryhips,...

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN, 1993

par Jean-Louis Grégoire

"Mytholojean", 1989

par William Laxton

MÉTAMORPHOJEAN, 1993

par Jean-Louis Grégoire

S.P.Q.R.CITY

1990

Mot inspiré des inscriptions figurant sur le fronton des monuments romains : Senatus Populus Que Romanus (le sénat et l'assemblée du peuple romain). 

 

Contraction de deux tendances pour former une proposition nouvelle au besoin de s'habiller sport dans la ville. Régi par les principes fondamentaux du travail de Marithé et François Girbaud : Matière - Forme - Fonction.

"X=MFG", 1991

par Michel Nafziger

"X=MFG", 1991

par Michel Nafziger

S.P.Q.R.CITY, 1991

CONTACT
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Icône YouTube

© Marithé + François Girbaud 2020